top of page

Open Codes  Center for Art and Media - ZKM  Karlsruhe, Germany  • 2018

Group Show

Open Codes _ ZKM 1.png

We live in a world that is not solely generated, driven, and controlled by things, words, and images, but above all by data. A vast number of electronic interfaces, like smartphones, computers, TVs, and data displays, accompany us 24/7. Fields of Data are indispensable and omnipresent

Living in digital worlds means increasingly a life spent in a programed, smart environment, a so-called »scripted reality.« The script is dictated in part by sensors, which provide information about the state of reality around us. The data from the sensors is processed by algorithms, which steer us through the world as though through a field of data. For the world we live in is more and more an artificial, human-made data world.

Open Codes _ ZKM 2.jpeg

The »Web Residencies« were launched with the aim of encouraging young talents on the international digital scene and artists from all disciplines dealing with web-based practices: What are creative minds working on worldwide? What are the concerns? What are their questions? And what artistic answers do they provide to recent developments in technology, society, and the Internet?

Roughly 550 artists, coders, designers, and scientists submitted ideas – 22 of them were awarded web residencies. In this way, a unique international network of various digital disciplines has been created. It shows the diversity of the creative and conceptual practices in dealing with the current paradigms of the arts and society characterized by digitization.

With concepts and projects by the curators and curators collectives: Netro, Mario Doulis, Apparatus 22, Tatiana Bazzichelli, Claudia Maté und Nora O Murchú, Tegan Bristow sowie den Web Residents: Haseeb Ahmed, Brud, Alan Butler & Elaine Hoey, Juan Covelli, Hang Do Thi Duc, Polly Gregson, Travis Hallenback, Adam Harvey, Institute for New Feeling, Dina Karadžić, Vedran Gligo, Lauren McCarthy, Manuel Minch, Joanna Moll, Dananayi Muwanigwa, Jan Nikolai Nelles, Nora Al-Badri, Eric Parren, Sascha Pohflepp & Chris Woebken, Léa Porré, Sahej Rahal, Paul Simon Richards, Jean-Michel Rolland, Jeremy Rotsztain, Nicolas Sassoon, Jeffrey Alan Scudder, Megan Snowe und Marloes de Valk. HASH Award Juorin: Marisa Olson.

Work shown:

 Oasis or Mirage? (2018)

Léa Porré - Oasis or Mirage_ (2018)
bottom of page