top of page

Hash Award 2020  ZKM Center for Art and Media  Karlsruhe, Germany  • 2020

Award Ceremony / Talk

Akademie Schloss Solitude and ZKM | Center for Art and Media will award the international production prize HASH, on February 21, 2020.

On February 21, 2020, the international production prize HASH for net-based projects in the fields of art, technology, and design will be awarded for the second time at the ZKM | Center for Art and Media Karlsruhe. The prize, endowed with 8,000 euros, was founded by Akademie Schloss Solitude and ZKM and is sponsored by the Stiftung Landesbank Baden-Württemberg. 

Léa Porré - Oasis or Mirage - ZKM Karlsruhe Akademie Solitude - HASH AWARD 2020

Conceived by invited curators, the Web Residencies’ open calls addressed questions such as: What can we learn from machines and how much do we depend on them in our lives and at work? How do new care technologies relate to the crisis in caring for the elderly and sick? With which technical innovations, hacks, or open-source strategies can we counter the causes and effects of climate change? What are today's scientific or technological colonialisms? How could digital infrastructures that promote opinion-forming and political debate look? What role do mobile phones, actioncams, toy drones and social media live streaming play in war, terrorism, hunting, and other forms of subjective violence and their representation?

Hash Award 2020 - Léa Porré (web).jpg

More than 1,200 artists, coders, designers, and scientists have submitted project proposals for the six thematic calls for 2018/2019. Twenty-five of these ideas were awarded with Web Residencies in which poetic, playful, as well as critical, political, or utopian works were realized. 

Hash Award 2020 - ZKM - 3 (web).jpg

On February 21, the curators and artists will come together at ZKM | Center for Art and Media Karlsruhe to present the programs’ themes and questions to an interested public in talks, presentations, and performances.

Hash Award 2020 - ZKM - 1 (web).jpg

PART 1 of the Hash Award 2020 - by Tegan Bristow, Léa Porré, Mary Maggic, Tiare Ribeaux, Morehshin Allahyari & Performance »The Future(s) Are Black Quantum Womanist« by Rasheedah Phillips

PART 2 - by Jonas Lund, Maria Roszkowska, Nicolas Maigret, Daphne Dragona, Johanna Bruckner, Dani Ploeger, Ronnie Karfiol

Hash Award 2020 - ZKM (web).jpg
Hash Award 2020 - ZKM - 2 (web).jpg

Work commissioned:

 Oasis or Mirage? (2018)

Léa Porré - Oasis or Mirage_ (2018)
bottom of page